Bible Art Journaling

Bible art journaling is a way to spend time alone with the Lord by focusing on scripture. They now make bibles exclusively for the purpose of bible art journaling.  You can use your regular study bible too. I chose to keep my study bible and art journaling bible separate. The art journaling bibles have margins on both sides of the pages, which give more room for journaling.

My favorite bible art journaling site is Rebekah R Jones.  She has different bible art journaling courses which include biblical lessons for free. You do not have to follow them in any particular order.

Before you start adding art to your bible, you will need to page prep. This is so that your art doesn’t bleed through to the other side of your page.  The best product I’ve found is Gesso by Art Basics.

You can use a foam brush to apply the gesso, but each time you will ruin your brush and have to toss it. I buy a large bag of make-up sponges from the dollar store and they work really well and save money.

You will need to protect the page underneath before applying the gesso. I use a sheet of waxed paper. I apply two coats of gesso. The first coat I apply using up and down strokes, the second application, I apply it back and forth.  I allow each coat to dry completely in between. Handle your bible pages carefully when they are wet, because they will tear easily.

 

 

I’m using a free print out from Rebekah’s blog. I trimmed around the edges to make it easier to work with.

You can use non-smearing graphite paper to transfer you image. Or you can use the pencil method, which is what I chose to do.

All you need to do is simply flip your paper over to the blank side. If the image doesn’t show through, you can hold it up against a window. Then just heavily trace the back of the image with a regular pencil.

 

Flip the image over and firmly trace the entire image onto your bible page. The pencil underneath will transfer the image.

You can then use the front of your image, or a separate piece of paper to choose your colors. Rebekah uses water color crayons for this project. I don’t own any of those, so I’m choosing to use colored pencils. For most of the projects I do of Rebekah’s, I use less expensive simpler supplies, which is fine, it’s up to you. The point is spending time with God.

The fun part is meditating on the scripture while adding the art. I filled in all of the colored pencil area first.

Lastly, I added embellishments and used a mica ink pen to outline and write with.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

